## Attosecond Transient Absorption in a Strong Field

L RICO<sup>1</sup>, J DUBOIS<sup>1,2</sup>, J CAILLAT<sup>1</sup>, B VODUNGBO<sup>1</sup>, R TAÏEB<sup>1</sup>, G LAMBERT<sup>2</sup>, AND C LÉVÊQUE<sup>1</sup>

<sup>1</sup>LCPMR, Sorbonne Université, Paris, France

<sup>2</sup>LOA, ENSTA Paris, CNRS, Ecole Polytechnique, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, 91762 Palaiseau, France, Palaiseau, France

Contact Email: leonardo.rico@sorbonne-universite.fr

Transient absorption is a typical time-resolved pump-probe experimental scheme that was first used to probe millisecond timescale dynamics [1]. As the laser pulses got shorter and more intense, this technic became able to probe faster phenomena. In particular, the use of High Harmonic Generation (HHG) [2] gives access to the attosecond timescale, which is the natural scale of electrons dynamics in matter. Typical attosecond transient absorption experiments use an extreme UV (XUV) pulse as a pump and either another XUV or an IR pulse as a probe [3]. In the case of an IR probe pulse, its intensity is usually of the order of  $10^{12}$  W.cm<sup>-2</sup>.

In this work, we study transient absorption of various atomic species in the gas phase using an unusually intense  $(10^{14} \text{ W.cm}^{-2})$  IR pulse (pump) and an attosecond train pulse (probe), motivated by experiments done at Laboratoire d'Optique Appliquée. We present and analyze results of numerical simulations obtained in the single-active electron approximation in 2D [4,5] to interpret this scheme as a new way to measure IR pulse durations.

## References

- [1] 1967 Chemistry Nobel prize decerned to Manfred Eigen, Ronald G. W. Norrish and George Porter
- [2] 2023 Physics Nobel prize decerned to Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L'Huilier
- [3] M Wu, S Chen, S Camp, K J Schafer and M B Gaarde, J. Phys. B 49, 062003 (2016)
- [4] A D Bandrauk and H Shen, J. Chem. Phys. 99, 1185 (1993)
- [5] J Caillat, A Maquet, F Risoud and R Taïeb, in: M J J Vrakking and F Lepine (eds.), Attosecond Molecular Dynamics, The Royal Society of Chemistry, 2018, p. 38
- [6] A Zaïr, O Tcherbakoff, E Mével, E Constant, R Lopez-Martens, J Mauritsson, P Johnsson and A L'Huillier, Appl. Phys. B 78, 869 (2004)